How I Failed at Pinterest

I don’t know about you, but I absolutely HATE mini-blinds. Those things look cheap, let too much light through, collect dust like crazy and take forever to get cleaned.

My bedroom windows are “adorned” with those plastic abominations and I have been quietly contemplating how to replace them in the least invasive/expensive way. Then one day came this Pinterest fad of turning mini-blinds into classy roman shades. I saw it while procrastinating with my schoolwork, and bingo! This is such an elegant solution!

I picked up some drapery fabric at Hancock during their going out of business sale. So I took a shot of rum deep breath and finally popped the blinds out of the brackets.

I didn’t follow a specific pin, rather a general idea picked up from the collective subconscious called the Interwebs. Most pins required a specific type of adhesive, but I was not about to betray my trusted hot glue gun. Also, I did not have enough fabric to self-line the drapes. However, the remnant I picked up did appear to have some kind of black lining attached, so I assumed this would be enough to keep the light out. I hemmed the fabric and pressed the seams.

Hemming fabric
This was the easiest step. As you can see, the fabric does have some sort of a thin lining. Unfortunately, it turns out to be totally see-through

Then I carefully cut through the “ladders” making sure the thick cord remains intact, popped out the bottom buttons and laid the blinds on my fabric. That’s when I discovered one important thing that none of those pins mentioned. If you want to attempt making those “roman shades”, please make sure your blinds are clean! Mine were so filthy, they left streaks of dust all over the fabric. Yuck! Common sense, right? I definitely didn’t think that one through.

My fabric shades ended up being 60 inches long, because I wanted them to be gathered up a bit even when the window is completely covered. I marked 6 inch intervals on both sides, pulled out extra slats and glued the remaining ones to the fabric with hot glue. In hindsight, I should have placed them in 10 inch intervals, because the folds ended up being way too short.

Then came the most confusing part. I just couldn’t wrap my head around the way the roman shade should be affixed to the headrail. In desperation, I tried to glue the fabric to the headrail the best way I could come up with. Nope, apparently hot glue is not designed for bearing any kind of a load bigger than a marble. Husband to the rescue! He quickly applied his engineering genius and screwed the fabric to the headrail with machine screws. I don’t know about you, but I’d never think of screwing fabric onto anything. Is that the most elegant solution? Nope. Did it hold the shade in place? Heck yes!

Shades screwed onto the headrail
See the screws? Aren’t we classy?

We had to mess around with the brackets to make this contraption fit properly, but eventually it was up.

Shades pulled up
Here is what the shades look like pulled up. Not terribly ugly but nothing to be proud of either.

I can’t say this “roman shade” was worth the time and the effort I spent on making it. It is partially my fault that it didn’t end up looking Pinterestworthy. I definitely don’t like how the slats show through the fabric, especially from the outside.

Shades unfolded
Oh ho! They let in a bunch of light and the slats show! What a disaster!

The overall shape did not come out well because those flimsy slats tend to bow. They will give in one day, I just know it. It is ok I guess but I will definitely be replacing this doodad with good old fashioned curtains.

Also, my first thought after hanging it was “I am totally submitting this to Pinstrosity!”. If you have not heard of this site, go check out http://www.mypinstrositylife.com/. I am in no way affiliated with the owners of this site; however, I do appreciate what they have done. It’s hilarious! If you are like me, it totally makes you feel better about failing to live that Pinterest perfect life.

PS. I do apologize for the quality of the pictures. I completely forgot how to use my 10 year old semi-manual Canon.

Leave a Reply

